#033: badlands

hey y’all!! instead of a song of the week, i’ll be recommending you an album this week because Halsey‘s debut record, Badlands, was just released worldwide yesterday and i absolutely cannot just pick one song that i love

i think, a couple of weeks ago, i chose hold me down/colors as my song of the week when those were 2/3 of the pre-released tracks and i think i was mildly afraid of being disappointed by the rest of the record because it’s not easy at all to put together that many songs and ensure that people / i will love them all equally

but she did it

so yeah, go listen to Badlands on spotify or buy it on iTunes because it’s amazing!! I’ll just share a couple of lyrics from the tracks that really mean a lot to me because, damn, can that girl write.

badlands

5. Hurricane
I’m a wanderess
I’m a one night stand
Don’t belong to no city
Don’t belong to no man
I’m the violence in the pouring rain
I’m a hurricane

6. Roman Holiday
Cause we’ll be looking for sunlight
Or the headlights
Till our wide eyes burn blind
We’ll be lacing the same shoes
That we’ve worn through
To the bottom of the line
And we know that we’re headstrong
And our heart’s gone
And the timing’s never right
But for now let’s get away
On a Roman holiday

13. Gasoline
And all the people say

“You can’t wake up, this is not a dream
You’re part of a machine, you are not a human being
With your face all made up, living on a screen
Low on self esteem, so you run on gasoline”
//
i think there’s a fault in my code
these voices won’t leave me alone
well, my heart is gold and my hands are cold

14. Control
I’m bigger than my body
I’m colder than this home
I’m meaner than my demons
I’m bigger than these bones

there’s just an honesty in her words and a certain bareness that can be both refreshing and unsettling and.. i just wish i could string my demons up as convincingly as she does. the images and concepts she uses to illustrate feelings are just so apt and i don’t know how she manages to make these cliched repeated feelings sound so fresh and new

i am complete halsey trash please listen to her music and talk to me about it bc i will love you if you do that

x Natasha

Leave a Reply

